Thursday, October 18, 2012

Olympics!

The year 2012 is the year of the Olympics. This is my 3rd year watching olympics. I was so psyched up about it. I read all about the preparations in the newspapers and in school. I was really looking forward to the opening ceremony.

That night, on the night of 5th August, i actually stayed up just to watch the opening ceremony, even though its during the fasting month, i don't give a shit! When i came home after dinner, i watched The Amazing Spider Man till 1.30 a.m. Then went downstairs and watched Disney channel and some other channels that i just randomly press on the remote till its 4 a.m. Finally, the moment has come, the moment that i have been waiting for, 2012 OLYMPIC LONDON OPENING CEREMONY!!!! It started with Daniel Craig jumping out of the helicopter with a look a like Of Queen Elizabeth the second. Well she look stunning that night. As expected of the queen. :) Then, its time for the 2000 performers to do their thing. There was really a lot of performers. It was been told that it took them four months to perfect it. That's a lot of days and hours. And they've pull it out perfectly. 

The concept of performance was based on the years of England from the year of 1400 till the present day. It was really interesting on how they showed that England started to develop during that time. Then, slowly to all the era's that they experienced from, seriously classic, to classic, to disco, till this very day. Have to say, bravo. I really enjoyed it. Even the beat of the song was awesome. They were celebrities and special guests like the creator of the World Wide Web, Sir Tim Bernes-Lee, Rowan Atkinson, Tinie Tempah and few others. Oh yeah, Sir Paul McCartney performed too! Even though he's old, he still got beat. 

After that, the ceremony continued with the  Olympic Flame Bearer. It started with a female athlete with David Beckham on a speed boat. He looked so dashing that night. 

I enjoyed watching Olympics. I do not have a sports channel at home, but i will check the updates on the newspapers, news, and i even downloaded an application on my phone, Olympic London 2012 to get updates on every game. But there is one sport that i really enjoyed, which is fencing. I watched the finals at my uncle's house, HD. From there i learnt a lot of thing, another sport that i also enjoyed was the 20km walk. Just looking at how they walk is already funny enough, but for them to have the stamina to do it, was just awesome. I also watched the 100m heat, and watched how fast they run. o_O They trained for 3 years. 3 years, for a game. It is just incredible.

Because of not having sports channel at home, i can't really watch all the sports. But i am thankful that i get to follow. I didn't watch the closing ceremony and i know that i didn't miss much. I read in the newspapers and on Twitter, so that's okay for me. So the next Olympic will be in Rio De Jeniro, Brazil, and i can't wait for that either. My story is up to here about the Olympics. I will update again, say maybe tomorrow. Many thanks to all. Ciao! 

No comments:

Post a Comment